The first venue of the Unconventional Computation Conference (formerly called Unconventional Models of Computation) was Auckland, New Zealand, in 1998; subsequent sites of the conference were Brussels, Belgium, in 2000, Kobe, Japan, in 2002, Sevilla, Spain, in 2005, York, United Kingdom, in 2006, Kingston Ontario, Canada, in 2007, Vienna, Austria, in 2008, and Ponta Delgada (Azores), Portugal, in 2009.